What are the stages and symptoms of CKDu?

CKDu has five stages.

CKDu is not easily detected by screening people for high blood pressure and urine abnormalities as is done for other forms of CKD.

Currently, CKDu can only be identified in the advanced stages by performing a blood test. It is suspected when people have abnormal kidney function blood tests but no other reasons to have kidney failure.

La Isla Network and its partners are working on a system to identify CKDu globally. (Click here to read more about the DEGREE Initiative.)

Symptoms of CKDu

Patients often do not realize they have developed CKDu until they have already sustained irreversible loss of kidney function.

In advanced stages, the disease’s symptoms include:

  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Sleep disturbance
  • Exhaustion
  • Weight loss
  • Death

These symptoms prevent sick men and women from participating in the workforce and limit their role in home life.

The unaffordable cost of life-extending dialysis treatment and lack of transplant options make CKDu a fatal diagnosis for affected populations.